Fashion Tip #12!

#12- DIY Sunday

This “tip” doesn’t really have anything to do with fashion. It actually has nothing to do with it. haha But do you ever have those days when you have a whole afternoon with nothing to do? That’s how it was for me today. So I decided to do some crafting. I will randomly get in crafting moods, wanting to do something fun and creative. And the good thing about being creative is: you can do no wrong. There are no rules and how-to’s when it comes to letting your imagination run wild.

I like to paint, but don’t do anything else when it comes to canvasses. But I didn’t feel like painting today when I found a few small canvasses. I decided to do something more creative with them. I will tell you how I did it, but remember, there are no right or wrong ways in being creative. If this idea inspires you, just make it however you want! This is just how I chose to do mine. It’s obviously not the best thing ever. haha But it was fun doing it!

IMG_0141

To get started, you need to find a space where you can craft. Here I have a whole box of random fabrics, pens, glue and all things creative. And of course, I have my coffee. You can’t work on something without those legal stimulants! 🙂

IMG_0107

IMG_0117

For the first one, you will need a blank canvas, some ribbon of choice, glue, (forget the glitter. I chose not to use it. Too messy! lol) fabric, scissors, paper, a pen, and of course some music to listen to! I chose to listen to the Broadway Wicked.

IMG_0126

I cut the fabric to how I wanted. I then glued it at an angle. Tip: Use a glue stick. I found that that worked better than a glue gun and fabric glue. Honestly, you can’t see this white fabric when it’s glued to the white canvas. So you may want to choose something else that shows up. But again, this is just what I found in my ‘crafting box’.

IMG_0129

Next, cut your fabric strips and glue them to the canvas. This is that foam wrap used for sports. I don’t know exactly what it’s called. But I found it, again, in the box and chose to incorporate it. I cut two thick strips and glued them so the canvas was divided evenly into thirds.

IMG_0135

Lastly, I tied a black ribbon in the corner and wrote a quote on the paper, cutting it with decorative scissors. I found this quote and just loved it. It says, “Don’t Quit Your Day Dream”.

IMG_0138

For the next one, you will just need sharpies/markers, and a canvas. This is super simple, but you can get as creative with it as you want!

IMG_0139

I wrote this quote and sketched a shoe in the corner. It’s not perfect, obviously, but the point is that it was fun to make, can actually be therapeutic, and is a great way to get rid of boredom!

IMG_0103

This is another one I did. I covered a canvas with paper, and just had fun with it.

IMG_0105

There are so many things you can do with canvasses! I tend to save mine, saving it for my paintings, since I am better at that than writing on one. (see the second project. haha ) But there is no grading when it comes to being creative. There’s no talent. You just do what you want and have fun doing it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

